The Planning Stage

13 Jun

It is interesting how one day the world seems wide open and yours for the taking.  And the next?  Well lets just say I woke up this morning and realized there is a ton of planning associated with taking this challenge on.

The first thing I have to do is increase my foot speed.  I can currently run a mile in just about 12 minutes, that is pretty slow.  I need to be able to bring that down to 7 or 8 minutes and I also need to be able to maintain that over at least three or four miles.  Right now, if there is any change in elevation, I start dropping towards the 13 and 14 minute marks once I pass the first mile.  Can I just say though that I really hate running?  If I am not chasing the ball it is not that much fun.

The second thing I have to do is shed my excess body weight.  Obviously thing one and thing two will work together.  The more I run, the less I will weigh and the less I weigh, the faster I will be able to run.  Losing weight is the bane of almost every woman’s existence.  This is going to take some effort…

The third thing I have to do is to start eating better.  I drink way to much coffee and diet soda.  (Oh but I love them both so dearly.)  I also do not eat enough fruits and vegetables.  Which is silly because I like those too.  Not nearly as much as coffee though.  Yet again all these things will affect each other and work together.  But eating them takes planning and forethought.

This is where I am going to get into trouble.  Planning and Forethought.

<sigh>  it is going to be a long day.

Leave a Reply

