By Contrast – D02

19 Jun

Yesterday was great!  When my alarm went off I was motivated to get up and go out for my run.  I substituted my morning cup(s) of coffee for an iced herbal tea and traded out my sugary scone for a banana and granola bar.  Instead of munching on carb laden snacks all day and skipping lunch I had a broccoli and raisin salad and a small piece of left over lasagna.  I added in a mid afternoon snack of green grapes and even managed to trade out my diet coke for water.

This morning, however, was not great.  My alarm went off and I could barely drag myself out of bed.  I was so tired that I bagged the run and shuffled through a walk with the dogs instead.  I am barely able to keep my head off the desk and have no idea how I am going to make it through the rest of the day.

Fortunately I have scraped together enough brain function to realize that I am going to have to ease into this a little bit at a time.  My body is totally freaking out and my brain is completely caffeine deprived.  You would think that the body would want to eat healthy and abstain from stimulants but years of conditioning it to expect these things makes the toll their absence takes almost unbearable.

Okay, so morning runs stay in but (for now) so does morning coffee.

2 Responses to “By Contrast – D02”

  1. forhernamesake June 19, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    It’s so good that you’re at least trying. I’m going through the same thing. I’m on day 7 and so far I’ve only missed one daily run, but I do slip up on what I eat every once in a while. Keep up the good work. As long as you’re focussed you’ll get there:)

    • jend1229 June 28, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Ha! Finally figured out comments on this blog. Thank you for your encouragement. Hope your runs are going well too.

Leave a Reply

