Small Gift – D23

10 Jul

Yesterday my body knew what my mind did not.  I slumped around all day feeling sorry for myself until I got home from work.  Then I decided to stop my pity-party and go for a run.  The first mile disappeared under my feet, it felt great!  When I hit the lap button on my Garmin I had to look twice.  10:07!!!  Now I realize that is not a fantastic mile split but it is a minute plus off my best.  I had to fight a little harder for the second mile, in fact, I was beginning to really feel it in my chest.  When I hit the lap button again I was mixed in my reaction.  10:47.  Still not a fantastic split and not nearly as good as the previous mile but better than I have ever clocked before.  The last mile was really hard.  The hills seemed endless and my heart rate was soaring but somehow I found the determination to keep going and I finished at 32:14.  That is 1:46 better than my PR from the 29th.

That Eminem song Lose Yourself came on right as I hit my last mile.  If you do not know the lyrics the song opens with this:

Look, if you had one shot, or one opportunity

To seize everything you ever wanted in one moment

Would you capture it or just let it slip?

I thought about that the whole way back (I also replayed the song, it is 5:22 in length).  I have this opportunity to go after a dream I have had since I was a little kid.  When I was younger I did not know how to prepare myself to try out for a professional sport.  I played because I loved the game and I had good coaches that loved the game too.  But I did not know how to get myself to a professional level and I had no one to show me.  There also were not a lot of opportunities for women at the professional level.  Now I have the tools I need to prepare myself and an opportunity to tryout.  So will I go for it or just let it pass me by?

Leave a Reply

