Hot Tamales – D47

3 Aug

Afternoon runs are infinitely more difficult than morning runs.  I made the egregious error of sleeping in this morning while promising myself I would lace up my running shoes after work and hit the pavement.  I forgot to factor in all the (foreseeable) distractions that assaulted me when I walked through the door.

But I ran anyways.  I ran because it was about to storm and I did not want to get caught in the rain (even though I did).  I ran because I wanted to feel like sh*t on that last hill.  Because I wanted to feel my breath ragged in my chest and see my heart rate soar on my monitor.  I ran because if I had stayed home I would have chowed down on a box of Hot Tamales.  (And I am not talking about the 240 calorie personal serving bag.  If you have a sweet tooth like me you know the 840 calorie BIG BOX you buy in the candy aisle at Walgreens that I am talking about.)  I ran because I am tired of feeling fat.  Because I wanted to feel like a Runner even though I never will be.  I ran because I needed a f*ck*ng PR.  Because I am tired of trotting like an old horse.

F*ck you rain!

It is really nothing to brag about, in fact it is a pretty slow time.  But it is the fastest I have RAN in years and I just do not feel like jogging anymore.

2 Responses to “Hot Tamales – D47”

  1. Alex August 3, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    You find afternoon runs more difficult than morning ones? I think it’s the other way… Though there are more distractions before the run on the afternoon, the city is already awake, so it’s easier for me not to get bored. Downside: waay more cars.

    P.s.: feeling like sh*t in the end is surprisingly good, isn’t it?

    • jend1229 August 3, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

      The only problem with morning runs is my lack of desire to get out of bed, other than that there is nothing else to distract me. I really enjoy the peace and quiet right before the world wakes up, though I can understand why you prefer the bustle of the afternoon to keep your run interesting. After work my mind is buzzing with all the things I need to do before the day’s end. I am also tired from being at work all day and just want to relax and be in my home.
      And yes, that ragged feeling at the end is surprisingly delicious. It makes me all to aware of how far I have come and how far I still have left to go.

Leave a Reply

