Avoiding the Inevitable – D186

20 Dec

I have put up the good fight but inevitably I am on the brink of losing my battle.

For the past week I have been pounding back copious quantities of Odwalla Green Machine and Naked Red Machine.  I even tried a  Bolthouse Farms Green Goodness this morning for something different.  Each morning, in addition to my tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, I have been taking Wellness Formula with an Astragalus capsule.  In the afternoon I take a Stress B-Complex and then more Wellness Formula before I go to bed.

It all started last Thursday.  In addition to the extra work I have taken on and the end of my semester I have had a string of late soccer games each week.  Usually the 10 and 11pm games are spaced out so I will only have one every two or three weeks.  For what ever reason, this session, they have been falling every week.  When I woke up Thursday morning with a little congestion I figured it was just allergies and brushed it off.  Around 3pm I realized the congestion was not going away and my throat was starting to feel a tad raw.  And so began the influx of vitamins and minerals into my system.  Either Sunday or Monday night I forgot to take my Wellness Formula and felt the congestion return the next morning.  I supplemented my morning intake with a chocolate Green SuperFood and a heavy shot of cream (that stuff is magic but it tastes like crap); that seemed to put me back on track but last night on my way home from my soccer game I could feel the cold raging against my body.  You know that extreme exhaustion that makes your shoulders sag and your chest feel heavy?  That was me last night.  Again this morning I work up with a hint of congestion and here I sit, two o’clock in the afternoon, and I can feel the body aches setting in.

I am a firm believer in mind over matter, especially when it comes to being sick.  Husband, on the other hand, tends to wallow in his misery.  (But I have to give him credit – he very rarely gets sick anymore.)  I can usually will myself better if I catch my cold symptoms early enough and if not, the really brutal part of my colds tend to only last for one to two days while Husband’s can drag on for five to seven.  If I time it just right the perfect bowl of Phở and a good night’s sleep are often all I need to knock a cold down.

I have been fighting hard for the last week but I just do not think I am going to win this time.

2 Responses to “Avoiding the Inevitable – D186”

  1. Tony January 1, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    I’m not a doctor, but I think your battle with the cold had more to do with the stress you were under than an attack of germs. I wonder if you might not have been better off just getting some more rest and practicing some relaxation techniques. Just sayin’.

    • jend1229 January 1, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      It was absolutely in response to lack of sleep and the added stress. My immune system was running on fumes! In this situation getting more rest was not an option but infusing my system with good nutrition was and it was really exciting to see it pay off. I know how important good nutrition is but it never fails to surprise me when it actually works, lol.

Leave a Reply

