Kicking the Habit – D197

31 Dec

One of my great vices is diet soda, particularly diet coke.  Pepsi kinda nasty… 

If you think about it (and rationalize it like I do) it is the perfect beverage.  Caffine to give you a boost, calorie free to avoid weight gain and flavorful to stay interesting.  I like water and drink copious quantities ever since I moved to Colorado and got to pass two kidney stones due to lack of proper hydration (but that is a story for another day).  It is just that water is pretty boring.  I know there are a lot of mix ins you can add to jazz up water but it feels like that is defeating the purpose.

The problem is that soda, especially diet soda, is far from the perfect beverage.  In fact, it could be considered worse than regular soda, though it does not have the high sugar content.  “In 2009, a group of researchers at the University of Texas Health Sciences in  Houston published a study that said daily consumption of diet soda increased the  chance of metabolic disease by 36 percent and the chance of Type 2 diabetes by 67 percent.” (livestrong.com)

“Additionally, soda is made up of a number of acidic chemicals, it is one of the most acidic substances humans ingest.  The acids in diet soda demineralize the bones and teeth, and can lead to fractures and osteoporosis.  Acid in the body also can lead to a number of health conditions such as inflammation and corrosion of body tissue.  When your body is overly acidic your skin will not be as beautiful or youthful.  It will contribute to looking older.” (kimberlysnyder.net)

I just finished reading Eat & Run by Scott Jurek (excellent book with great story telling) and it has really got me thinking about what I put into my body.  In one part of the book he talks about how he realized during a race he did not win that he could not have pushed himself any harder; mentally and physically he gave everything he had.  Like most extreme athletes he decided that was not good enough.  Thus he began analysing how his nutrition was impacting his performance.

A few weeks ago I put up an epic battle against the onset of a cold.  I supplemented my diet with a lot of “nutritional” goodies and actually won the fight.  Any other time in my life I would have lost but the influx of the supplements not only helped my immune system fight off the cold virus but I have never felt better.  I am waking up a lot quicker each morning and do not hit the 2pm wall in the afternoons.  You want to know what else I have been doing (or not doing)?

I have not had a diet soda in over two weeks.

Coincidence?  I think not.

5 Responses to “Kicking the Habit – D197”

  1. Tony December 31, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Congrats on your two weeks of ‘sobriety’ from diet drinks. I have posted similar observations on my blog about it.

    • jend1229 December 31, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

      I have never thought of it as sobriety but drinking a 12oz can everyday could be considered an addiction… If I stick with it do I get a coin?

      • Tony January 1, 2013 at 2:00 am #

        If you want one. If you ever have some free time check out the diet soda posts on my blog. My former blogging partner was and addict. He drank over 140 ounces a day. We went back and forth in blog posts on it.

      • jend1229 January 1, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

        I think I might go find myself one if I can make it to a month. That constant reminder, much like this blog has been for me, really helps you stay on track.

        140 oz??? That is insane! I went diggin around your blog yesterday and found some great posts but I will have to go back and find the chain between you two. Thanks for the info!

  2. Tony January 1, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    You are welcome. The fact that you recognize that you have a problem is half the battle. I know that is a cliche, but it is true. My ex-blogging partner never got it. He was also a Hostess Ho Ho’s junkie. He actually left the blog and my friendship of 30 years over what I wrote about Ho Hos. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

